My Name is Rico

Facts About Me

Breed: Potcake (Labrador mix)

Color: Tan

Age: 7-8 months old

Size: Medium

Weight:

Sex: Male

Status: Available

ADOPTION FEE: 300.00

My Information

Neutered
Shots Up To Date

My Story

Hi!  My name is Rico!  I’m a 7-8-month-old Labrador mix.  I am a Potcake* dog from Nassau, Bahamas.  I am still a little shy and it take me a bit to warm up to humans, but I am coming out of my shell.  Once I warm up to humans, I am a very happy pup who loves attention!

I love playing in the pond and paddock.  I play great on my own.  Often, I’ll take my favorite toy of the moment from the toy box and just throw it around.  It’s kinda like playing catch with myself.  I also like to do zoomies in the pond and paddock.  Sometimes I’ll do zoomies while carrying my toy.

My new family must understand that I will need time to adjust to another set of new surroundings.  I will need time, patients and understanding while I continue to work on my manners and skills.  I still get shy around new humans, but so long as they go slow, I am quick to warm up.  I may do good with older kids as long as they understand my need for going slow and patience. I would not do will with a family with little kids. I need a family that will continue to work with me on training.  I do well with other female dogs.  We are not sure how I am with male dogs and/or cats.

My adoption fee is $300.00.

 

Potcake* dogs are mixed-breed street island dogs from the Bahamas and the Turks and Caicos Islands.  These dogs are known as potcake dogs because the locals feed the caked remains, like rice, from cooking pots to these dogs.  Potcake dogs are known to be loving, loyal and smart.  They often express appreciation for the good fortune of being rescued, loved and cared for.

 

Pictures by Michael Stephenson – https://www.facebook.com/michael.stephenson.3958

Hours of Operation

All visits to E.A.R.S. are by appointment only.

E.A.R.S. is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

Address

Elizabeth's Animal Rescue & Sanctuary
1644 Altamont Lane,
Odessa, FL 33556

© 2021 E.A.R.S. ANIMAL RESCUE & SANCTUARY, INC.. All Rights Reserved.