My Name is Chili (Shakira)

Facts About Me

Breed: German Shepard

Color: Black and Brown with some White

Age: 1-years-old

Size: Medium

Weight:

Sex: Female

Status: Available

ADOPTION FEE: 300.00

My Information

Shots Up To Date
Good With Kids

My Story

Hello!  My name is Chili! I am also known as Shakira by some of the volunteers here.  Why do the volunteers also call me Shakira, you may ask?  It’s because like the song – my “hips don’t lie”!
And when you walk up on the dance floor
Nobody cannot ignore the way you move your body, girl (just move)
And everything so unexpected, the way you right and left it
So you can keep on shaking it (let’s go)
(Shakira, 2005, Oral Fixation Vol. 2).
To see my sweet “dance” moves, check out my video’s on the E.A.R.S. Facebook page.
I am a 1-year-old pure bred German Shepard!  As you can tell from my awesome “dance” moves, I walk differently than other dogs.  This is because I have Cerebellar Hypoplasia.  “Cerebellar hypoplasia in dogs is a condition where the cerebellum, the part of the brain that controls coordination, fails to fully develop. Symptoms of cerebellar hypoplasia in dogs are associated with movement, especially intentional movement. Cerebellar hypoplasia can range in severity from mild and barely noticeable to severe, causing tremors, difficulty walking, difficulty eating, and difficulty with pretty much everything other than sleeping.” ( https://www.greatpetcare.com/dog-health/cerebellar-hypoplasia-in-dogs/?fbclid=IwAR0QD_duktTW0129vVGFL6hPU7HHr_0-W5XB-sD9dktUBfD_Jpew5K4DYws)  But don’t worry, this condition is not painful, and I am able to live a long and healthy life!
I love playing in the pond and paddock here at E.A.R.S.  I also enjoy going for walks and am starting to get much better at walking on my leash.  I always get really excited to see the volunteers.  I enjoy playing a gentle game of catch, although I’m not very graceful and don’t always land on my feet…but I’m not a cat so that’s okay!  Haha!!  I also enjoy sitting with the volunteers or just walking around with them.  I am a very happy pup and a big goof!  The volunteers can never get enough of me!  I love all the attention the volunteers give me, and I love giving it back!
I will make a great family dog!  I may not get along with other dogs and/or cats.  My new family should have an understanding of my condition and know that there are limits on what I can do.  While I enjoy going for walks, I most likely would not do well on hikes or be able to swim….but I’ll still enjoy running though the sand on a beach!  I will need a family that has time and patience to work with my on my manners and trainings.  I hope that you will give me a chance as I am a loving dog, with a big personality and heart!
My adoption fee is $300.00.

Hours of Operation

All visits to E.A.R.S. are by appointment only.

E.A.R.S. is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

Address

Elizabeth's Animal Rescue & Sanctuary
1644 Altamont Lane,
Odessa, FL 33556

© 2021 E.A.R.S. ANIMAL RESCUE & SANCTUARY, INC.. All Rights Reserved.